A Successful Day!

A Successful Day!

42-15200720It was wonderful to see the bus pull up to the school at the end of the day. The children all looked happy and tired from an exciting day! Ms. Stark said that the fieldtrip was apparently the best trip ever! I think that the ride had something to do with that! 🙂 I was very sorry that I did not get to go a long but I am sure that the students learned lots and brought back many great memories. I also hope that the trip helped to bring an excitement and curiosity for Space into their minds. I love Space. It has so many infinite possibilities and so much wonder. There is so much we know and yet we still can not even fathom the depths of the things we don’t know. Anyway, I am sure looking forward to seeing the photos that you all took of the trip. I am looking forward to taking them to the computer lab and using them in lots of creative ways. There are several ways you can get the photos to me. Please read below for instructions on how to get the photos to me: 

Emailing:

Emailing the photos may be one of the easiest way to get the photos to me. If you have done this before without any problems, you can skip this part. However, there can be problems due to the size of the files. With photo files, if they are too big sometimes you end up having to send them one by one and sometimes, if it doesn’t work, you get an email saying that your email could not be sent. One way to solve that problem is to save them all to a new “zipped” folder on your computer which reduces the size. You can try sending that folder by email without doing anything following the steps below:

  1. Right-click a blank area on the desktop or in an open folder, point to New, and then click Compressed (zipped) Folder.
  2. Type a name for the new compressed folder, and then press ENTER. Your new compressed folder is displayed as a folder icon with a zipper. Depending on your preferences, a .zip file name extension may also appear.
  3. You move files and folders to or from compressed folders exactly as you move them to or from uncompressed folders. For example, you can drag files or folders to the compressed folder. When you move a file or a folder to a compressed folder, that file is automatically compressed. A file that is moved from a compressed folder is automatically uncompressed.

If the file is still too big, you may have to use an online service to send it. Follow these steps to send it using Yousendit.com. When you have all the photos in one compressed folder, go to http://yousendit.com/. You may have to create a new account first. Once you are in, fill in the email information (our email is mrhclass@gmail.com), go to the “select a file” box, click browse and find the compressed folder you made. When you click open, it will insert itself as part of the email. Click “Send it” and you are done. I will get a link to the file to download it. 

Burn to CD:

If you want, you can just burn the photos to a cd and bring that to school. I will reimburse you for the cd (bring you a blank cd in return). 

Put the photos on a memory stick and bring that to school:

If you just put the photos on a memory stick and bring it to school, I will download them off the stick onto my computer. 

Bring the camera back to school:

You can also bring the camera back to school and I will pop the card out and plug it into my computer and just take the photos directly off the camera.

Any of these ways works for me. It just depends on what is easiest for you. Please come talk to me about which way is easiest or if you need any help. Thank you again for allowing your students to bring their cameras. I believe that it was a success for the most part (though I haven’t seen the photos yet! 🙂 ) This may be the beginning of incorporating cameras more into what we do though more discussion on when to take photos may be needed apparently . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar