For Mr. Morris

For Mr. Morris

In social, the students have been doing quite a bit of work on mapping and using cardinal directions to find their way around a variety of areas. We are getting ready for a big project potentially involving a couple of high school classes but I am not telling the students about the project until we get to it. All I will say is that it involves treasure!

As I was looking around for resources, I came across this video. Now, I am a huge fan of the West Wing and have probably watched the series 7 times or more. It was and still is my favorite tv series and I was very sad to see it go. I also happen to know that Mr. Morris, the father of one of our students, also is “hooked” on the series. So, I thought that this would be the perfect video. Not only is it from the “West Wing” but it also is about maps and, specifically, our preconceived notion of what our world looks like as shown by the atlases we use.

4 thoughts on “For Mr. Morris

  1. I will admit that Dave and I were both addicts to this series too! Love the clip – nice to see them again 🙂

  2. I actually agree with the geeky people…and I also LOVE westwing. I think that Barlett should have actually run for President…and it ended up prophetic that an underdog visible minority ended up winning the election.

  3. Hi Mr.Hancock and the grade 3 class. This is Stephen’s Mom, wanting to thank you for praying for Stephen. He is still sick in the hospital. We aren’t sure when he can come home yet. Please continue to pray for him. Yesterday he had a very difficult and painful day. Today he is doing a bit better. I know he misses you guys and would much rather be in class. When you pray, please pray that his infection would clear and that he would need no further surgery. Thank you so much!

  4. I actually wondered whether Aaron Sorkin had been writing speeches for Obama. He reminds me so much of how Aaron wrote for Bartlett. Everytime I heard Obama speak I thought West wing. Turns out it was some 26 year old who is not even trained in speech writing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar